Location & dates Virtual 2 - 3 Mar 2021
Deadlines Registration closed Abstract submission closed
EES_logo

EMBL Courses and Conferences during the Coronavirus pandemic

With the onsite programme paused, many of our events are now being offered in virtual formats.


Registration is open as usual for many events, with back-up plans in place to move further courses and conferences online as necessary. Registration fees for any events affected by the COVID-19 disruption are fully refundable.


More information for participants of events at EMBL Heidelberg can be found here.

Programme

Registered participants were sent information about accessing the conference platform (where pre-recorded talks are available) on Friday 19 February. If you are registered for the event and did not receive this information, please contact Maria Mercedes Bacadare Goitia.

Got something to say? Tweet it with #EESCellSurface

  • To accommodate a worldwide audience, all talks will be pre-recorded and made available to registered participants 10 days before the start of the conference.

  • Live discussion sessions will be held during the event and each session will be held twice allowing participants to attend the session which best fits their timezone.

The following times are used in the programme below:

  • Central European Time (CET): eg. Berlin, Amsterdam Paris
  • Eastern Standard Time (EST): eg. New York, Quebec
Pre-conference
All talks will be pre-recorded and made available 10 days before the start of the conference. Registered participants are encouraged to view these before Day 1 of the conference. There will be the opportunity to ask questions during the live discussion sessions.
Day 1 - Tuesday 2 March 2021
TimeSpeaker

10:00 - 10:10 (CET)
04:00 - 04:10 (EST)

Opening remarks

10:10 - 14:30 (CET)
04:00 - 08:30 (EST)

Morning Discussion Sessions
10:10 - 10:55 (CET)
04:10 - 04:55 (EST)

Discussion Session 1 (morning) - Shape adaptation: mechanisms at the cell surface
Moderator: Ewa Paluch - University of Cambridge, UK 

1A: Bénédicte Sanson - University of Cambridge, UK
1A: Cécile Sykes - CNRS, Institut Curie, France

1B: Nicolas Minc - Institut Jacques Monod, France
1B: Anne-Cécile Reymann - Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology, France

Plus 2 pre-recorded short talk speakers:

Bas Jacobs - Wageningen University & Research, The Netherlands
Lara Selvaggi - University of Zurich, Switzerland

10:55 - 11:00 (CET)
04:55 - 05:00 (EST)

Break

11:00 - 11:45 (CET)
05:00 - 05:45 (EST)

Discussion Session 2 (morning) - High-resolution mechanics of membrane-shaping proteins
Chair: Alba Diz-Munoz - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

2A: Pól Martin Bendix - University of Copenhagen, Denmark
2A: Andela Šarić - University College London, UK

2B: Wanda Kukulski - University of Bern, Switzerland
2B: Aurélien Roux - University of Geneva, Switzerland

Plus 2 selected short talk speakers:

Anabel-Lise Le Roux - Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia, Spain
Wenting Zhao - Nanyang Technological Unviersity, Singapore

11:45 - 12:00 (CET)
05:45 - 06:00 (EST)
Break
12:00 - 13:00 (CET)
06:00 - 07:00 (EST)
Virtual Poster Session 1

13:00 - 13:30 (CET)
07:00 - 07:30 (EST)

Career Development Session (morning)
Moderator: Alba Diz-Munoz - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

Panelists:

Alba Diz-Munoz - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
Henrik Jönsson - University of Cambridge, UK
Ewa Paluch - University of Cambridge, UK
Andela Šarić - University College London, UK

13:30 - 14:00 (CET)
07:30 - 08:00 (EST)

Optional: Virtual Coffee Break

14:00 - 14:30 (CET)
08:00 - 08:30 (EST)

Discussion Session 3 (morning) - From nanometer-scale organization to micron-scale function: Cell-cell signaling and spindle assembly
Chair: Alba Diz-Munoz - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

Daniel A. Fletcher - University of California, Berkeley, USA
Howard Stone - Princeton University, USA

Plus 1 selected short talk speaker:

Veneta Gerganova - University of Lausanne, Switzerland

14:30 - 15:00 (CET)
08:30 - 09:00 (EST)

Break

15:00 - 17:30 (CET)
09:00 - 11:30 (EST)

Afternoon Discussion Sessions

15:00 - 15:45 (CET)
09:00 - 09:45 (EST)

Discussion Session 1 (afternoon) - Shape adaptation: mechanisms at the cell surface
Chair: KC Huang - Stanford University, USA

1A: Bénédicte Sanson - University of Cambridge, UK
1A: Cécile Sykes - CNRS, Institut Curie, France

1B: Nicolas Minc - Institut Jacques Monod, France
1B: Anne-Cécile Reymann - Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology, France

Plus 2 selected short talk speakers:

Sergio Lembo - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
Sven van Teeffelen - University of Montreal, Canada

15:45 - 16:00 (CET)
09:45 - 10:00 (EST)
Break
16:00 - 16:45 (CET)
10:00 - 10:45 (EST)

Discussion Session 2 (afternoon) - High-resolution mechanics of membrane-shaping proteins
Chair: Zemer Gitai - Princeton University, USA

2A: Pól Martin Bendix - University of Copenhagen, Denmark 
2A: Andela Šarić - University College London, UK

2B: Wanda Kukulski - University of Bern, Switzerland
2B: Aurélien Roux - University of Geneva, Switzerland

Plus 2 selected short talk speakers:

Ankita Jha - National Institutes of Health, USA
James Saenz - B CUBE Center for Molecular Bioengineering / TU Dresden, Germany

16:45 - 17:00 (CET)
10:45 - 11:00 (EST)

Break

17:00 - 17:30 (CET)
11:00 - 11:30 (EST)

Discussion Session 3 (afternoon) - From nanometer-scale organization to micron-scale function: Cell-cell signaling and spindle assembly
Chair: Zemer Gitai - Princeton University, USA

Daniel A. Fletcher - University of California, Berkeley, USA
Howard Stone - Princeton University, USA

Plus 1 selected short talk speaker:
Xavier Pierrat - École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland

 

17:30 - 17:45 (CET)
11:30 - 11:45 (EDT)

Break

17:45 - 18:15 (CET)
11:45 - 12:15 (EST)

Career Development Session (afternoon)
Moderator: Zemer Gitai - Princeton University, USA

Panelists:

Zemer Gitai - Princeton University, USA
KC Huang - Stanford University, USA
Henrik Jönsson - University of Cambridge, UK
Anna Marie Sokac - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA 

18:15 - 19:15 (CET)
12:15 - 13:15 (EST)

Virtual Poster Session 2

19:15 - 19:45 (CET)
13:15 - 13:45 (EST)

Optional: Virtual Speed Networking

19:45 (CET)
13:45 (EST)
End of Day 1 - continued access to digital posters, pre-recorded talks and virtual networking and discussions
Day 2 - Wednesday 3 March 2020
TimeSpeaker
Continued access to digital posters, pre-recorded talks and virtual networking and discussions
10:00 - 10:45 (CET)
04:00 - 04:45 (EST)

Discussion Session 4 (morning) -  Elucidating multicellular morphology and signaling using live imaging and mechanical modeling
Chair: Ewa Paluch - University of Cambridge, UK 

4A: Henrik Jönsson - University of Cambridge, UK
4A: Anne-Marie Krachler - The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, USA 

4B: Lisa Manning - The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, USA 
4B: Marcus J. Taylor - Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology, Germany 

Plus 2 selected short talk speakers:

Timothy Saunders - National University of Singapore, Singapore
Guilherme Ventura - University of Copenhagen, Denmark

10:45 - 11:00 (CET)
04:45 - 05:00 (EST)

Break

11:00 - 11:45 (CET)
05:00 - 05:45 (EST)

Discussion Session 5 (morning) - Finding the underlying principles of cell surface mechanics through inter-kingdom comparisons
Chair: Alba Diz-Munoz - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

5A: Olivier Hamant - École Normale Supérieure de Lyon, France 
5A: Anna Marie Sokac - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA 

5B: Zev Gartner - University of California, San Francisco, USA 
5B: Raymond E. Goldstein - University of Cambridge, UK

Plus 2 selected short talk speakers:

Nicolas Jolivert - INRS - Institut Armand-Frappier, Canada
Chloé Roffay - University of Geneva, Switzerland

11:45 - 12:00 (CET)
05:45 - 06:00 (EST)

Break

12:00 - 12:30 (CET)
06:00 - 06:30 (EST)

Meet the Editor
Moderator: Alba Diz-Munoz - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

Ines Alvarez-Garcia - PLoS Bio
Abigail Klopper - Nature Physics
Dominique Morneau - Nature Reviews
Martina Rembold - EMBO Reports

12:30 - 13:00 (CET)
06:30 - 07:00 (EST)

Optional: Virtual Coffee Break

13:00 - 14:00 (CET)
07:00 - 08:00 (EST)
Break
13:40 - 14:00 (CET)
07:40 - 08:00 (EST)
Optional: Industry Session
14:00 - 15:00 (CET)
08:00 - 09:00 (EST)

Virtual Poster Session 3

15:00 - 15:45 (CET)
09:00 - 09:45 (EST)

Discussion Session 4 (afternoon) - Elucidating multicellular morphology and signaling using live imaging and mechanical modeling
Chair: KC Huang - Stanford University, USA

4A: Henrik Jönsson - University of Cambridge, UK
4A: Anne-Marie Krachler - The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, USA 

4B: Lisa Manning - The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, USA 
4B: Marcus J. Taylor - Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology, Germany 

Plus 2 selected short talk speakers:

Effie Bastounis - University of Washington, USA
Gerardo Ceada - Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia, Spain

15:45 - 16:00 (CET)
09:45 - 10:00 (EST)

Break

16:00 - 16:45 (CET)
10:00 - 10:45 (EST)

Discussion Session 5 (afternoon) - Finding the underlying principles of cell surface mechanics through inter-kingdom comparisons
Chair: Zemer Gitai - Princeton University, USA

5A: Olivier Hamant - École Normale Supérieure de Lyon, France 
5A: Anna Marie Sokac - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA 

5B: Zev Gartner - University of California, San Francisco, USA 
5B: Raymond E. Goldstein - University of Cambridge, UK 

Plus 2 selected short talk speakers:

Benjamin Bratton - Princeton University, USA
Shiladtitya Banerjee - Carnegie Mellon University, USA

16:45 - 17:00 (CET)
10:45 - 11:00 (EST)

Break

17:00 - 17:30 (CET)
11:00 - 11:30 (EST)

Meet the Editor
Moderator: Alba Diz-Munoz - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

Ines Alvarez-Garcia - PLoS Bio
Ieva Gailite - EMBO Journal
Stella Hurtley - SCIENCE
Quincey Justman - Cell Systems
Abi Klopper - Nature Physics

17:30 - 18:30 (CET)
11:30 - 12:30 (EST)

Virtual Bar Mixer with live jazz - all speakers and participants are invited to join!
(The link will be shared in the conference platform)

Enjoy a drink and chat with other conference participants in randomly assigned Zoom breakout rooms. Live jazz will start and finish the session.

18:30 - 18:40 (CET)
12:30 - 12:40 (EST)
Closing
18:40 (CET)
12:40 (EST)
End of conference - access to digital posters, pre-recorded talks and virtual networking and discussions will continue to be available for 14 days.